Life with the P's

A young couple living life – remodeling, diy projects, and everything in between!

Spare Bedroom Progress

 We started and finished painting our main spare bedroom this weekend. It looks amazing! We chose the paint color “Manor House” by Sherwin Williams. The room turned out even better than planned. We already had the maroon/red curtains from our old house but we didn’t plan the room they were in before. This time, I think we got it right! The room isn’t finished yet, but here are some before and after pictures of the painting progress.

           

First of all, I hate wallpaper. Did I mention… I HATE WALLPAPER! I don’t think wallpaper is a good idea. Especially in a bathroom. But more to come on that one later. My reasons for hating wallpaper: (1) it dates, quickly (2) it is a pain to install and even worse to remove (3) it is usually ugly. Now, this isn’t to say I haven’t seen some wallpaper that actually looks good, I just haven’t seen any I want in my house. Moving on….

And here is the after. Please excuse the multiple leaning sago palm plants. We had a recent weather incident and had to bring in the plants. And we had to hide them in a closed area because kitties like to dig. weirdos.

ANYWAY, after:

 

 I know it isn’t finished yet. And it’s pretty messy in there. Aaron said I needed to wait until the room was finished, as in finished finished. But I like to share, so I posted it anyway. Here is the plan for the room, just so it makes sense what we are planning. The picture quality is kinda crappy, and some peeps have told me that my color choices are bold (which means bad). So before you get nervous, check out our plan for the finished product:

The paint is Sherwin-Williams. Curtains are from Bed, Bath and Beyond. The bedding is from Macy’s and waaay out of our price range. The dresser and matching night stand are from Ashley Furniture. We plan on making our own head board and I am not going to lie, I am pretty excited about it. So, there you go… our first spare bedroom partial reveal!

4 responses to “Spare Bedroom Progress

  1. Donna February 28, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Your home is going to be a Show Place! Mom

  2. Donna February 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    It is intense but the color contrast is excellent. Great balance and modern. I didn’t like any of the wall paper. The gaudy carpet does have to go. You have always had great taste Leslie. Aaron sewing! Wow! I am in awe. I never sew anything on a sewing machine. That is incredible Aaron. You both have such diversified gifts. Donna – Mom

  3. Eates-a-lot February 10, 2011 at 9:22 am

    Woot Woot!
    I loooove it!
    Best wishes as you start another new adventure!

    BTW – Bold doesn’t HAVE to mean bad.. just means BOLD! 😉

Leave a Reply

